Special Event Honoring George Hadadd

Honoring George Haddad’s Service To the Microwave Community For More Than Half a Century

10:10 – 11:50 | Thursday,14 June | Room 204B

Event Chairs:
Samir El-Ghazaly, Department of Electrical Engineering University of Arkansas, Fayetteville, AR              

Khalil Najaf, Electrical & Computer Engineering University of Michigan, Ann Arbor, MI

This special event celebrates and honors Professor George Haddad’s long and dedicated service to microwave engineers and the IEEE Microwave Theory and Techniques Society (MTT-S) for more than 50 years. George I. Haddad received the B.S.E., M.S.E., and Ph.D. degrees in Electrical Engineering from The University of Michigan. He is currently the Robert J. Hiller Professor Emeritus of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science at the University of Michigan. He served as the Department Chair from 1975–1986 and 1991–1997. He also served as Director of the Electron Physics Laboratory from 1969–1975, Director of the Solid-State Electronics Laboratory from 1986–1991, and Director of the Center for High Frequency Microelectronics from 1986–2000. His expertise is in the areas of microwave and millimeter-wave devices and integrated circuits, microwave-optical interactions, and optoelectronic devices and integrated circuits. Dr. Haddad received the 1970 Curtis W. McGraw Research Award of the American Society for Engineering Education for outstanding achievements by an engineering teacher, The College of Engineering Excellence in Research Award (1985), the Distinguished Faculty Achievement Award (1986) of The University of Michigan, and the S. S. Attwood Award of the College of Engineering for Outstanding Contributions to Engineering Education, Research and Administration. He is a member of Eta Kappa Nu, Sigma Xi, Phi Kappa Phi, Tau Beta Pi, the American Society for Engineering Education, and the American Physical Society. He is a Fellow of the IEEE and a Member of the National Academy of Engineering. Dr. Haddad served as Editor of the IEEE MTT-S Transactions from 1968–1971 and on the MTT-S-Administrative Committee from 1970– 1976. He received the MTT-S Distinguished Service Award, the 1996 MTT-S Distinguished Educator Award, and the IEEE Third Millennium Medal. He has also served and participated on numerous other IEEE committees and activities.


  • Jack East, University of Michigan
  • Samir El-Ghazaly, University of Arkansas
  • Madhu Gupta, San Diego State University
  • Magdy Iskander, University of Hawaii
  • Imran Mehdi, Jet Propulsion Lab
  • Amir Mortazawi, University of Michigan
  • Khalil Najafi, University of Michigan
  • Dimitris Pavlidis, NSF
  • Kamal Sarabandi, University of Michigan
  • Peter Staecker, MTT-S Awards Committee
  • Robert Trew, North Carolina State University
  • Fawwaz Ulaby, University of Michigan